Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Sunday, 1 August 2021

Baltic states

Countries east of the Baltic Sea

Baltic states
Baltic states

The Baltic states, also known as the Baltic countries, Baltic republics, or simply the Baltics, is a geopolitical term, typically used to group the three sovereign states on the eastern coast of the Baltic Sea: Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. The term is not used in the context of cultural areas, national identity, or language, because while the majority of people in Latvia and Lithuania are Baltic people, the majority in Estonia are Finnic related to the small Livonian minority in Latvia. All three states are part of the European Union. The three governments engage in intergovernmental and parliamentary cooperation. There is frequent cooperation in foreign and security policy, defence, energy, and transportation.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage