Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Monday, 18 January 2021


Country spanning Eastern Europe and Northern Asia


Russia, or the Russian Federation, is a transcontinental country spanning Eastern Europe and Northern Asia. It extends from the Baltic Sea in the west to the Pacific Ocean in the east, and from the Arctic Ocean in the north to the Black and Caspian seas in the south. Russia covers over 17,125,191 square kilometres (6,612,073 sq mi), stretching more than one-eighth of the Earth's inhabited land area, with eleven time zones, and borders with 16 sovereign nations. Moscow is the country's capital and largest city; and Saint Petersburg is the second-largest city.

0 shares 3 views

News coverage

You might like

Russia media coverage


More coverage