Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Friday, 22 January 2021

Winston Churchill

British statesman; Prime Minister of the United Kingdom (1940–1945; 1951–1955)

Winston Churchill
Winston Churchill

Sir Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill, was a British statesman, army officer, and writer. He was Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1940 to 1945, during the Second World War, and again from 1951 to 1955. Apart from two years between 1922 and 1924, Churchill was a Member of Parliament (MP) from 1900 to 1964 and represented a total of five constituencies. Ideologically an economic liberal and imperialist, he was for most of his career a member of the Conservative Party, as leader from 1940 to 1955. He was a member of the Liberal Party from 1904 to 1924.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

You might like