Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Monday, 4 July 2022

West Bank

Territory claimed by the State of Palestine

West Bank
West Bank

The West Bank, also referred to by some Israelis as Judea and Samaria, is a landlocked territory near the coast of the Mediterranean in Western Asia. It is bordered by Jordan and the Dead Sea to the east and by Israel to the south, west, and north. Under an Israeli military occupation since 1967, its area is split into 165 Palestinian "islands" that are under partial civil administration by the Palestinian National Authority (PNA), and 230 Israeli settlements into which Israeli law is "pipelined". The West Bank's borders also include the lands that comprise East Jerusalem.

0 shares 3 views

News coverage

You might like

West Bank media coverage