Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Tuesday, 26 October 2021


Country in Western Asia


Iran, also called Persia, and officially the Islamic Republic of Iran, is a country in Western Asia. It is bordered to the northwest by Armenia and Azerbaijan, to the north by the Caspian Sea, to the northeast by Turkmenistan, to the east by Afghanistan, to the southeast by Pakistan, to the south by the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman, and to the west by Turkey and Iraq. Iran covers an area of 1,648,195 km2 (636,372 sq mi), with a population of 85 million. It is the second-largest country in the Middle East, the sixth-largest entirely in Asia, and its capital and largest city is Tehran.

0 shares 6 views

News coverage

Iran media coverage


More coverage