Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Saturday, 23 January 2021

10 Downing Street

Headquarters of British Government

10 Downing Street
10 Downing Street

10 Downing Street, also known colloquially in the United Kingdom as Number 10, is the headquarters of the Government of the United Kingdom and the official residence and office of the First Lord of the Treasury, a post which, for much of the 18th and 19th centuries and invariably since 1905, has been held by the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom. The term "10 Downing Street", or just "Downing Street", is also used as a metonym for the Prime Minister's office.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

You might like

10 Downing Street media coverage


More coverage