Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Wednesday, 16 June 2021

West Midlands (county)

County of England

West Midlands (county)
West Midlands (county)

The West Midlands is a ceremonial county, metropolitan county and combined authority area in west-central England with a 2019 estimated population of 2,928,592. This makes it the second most populous county in England after Greater London. It was created in 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972 to cover parts of Staffordshire, Worcestershire and Warwickshire. The county is a NUTS 2 region within a wider NUTS 1 region of the same name. It covers seven metropolitan boroughs: Birmingham, Coventry, Wolverhampton, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull and Walsall.

0 shares 3 views

News coverage

West Midlands (county) media coverage