Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Friday, 19 April 2024

Soviet Union

1922–1991 country spanning Eurasia

Soviet Union
Soviet Union

The Soviet Union, officially the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), was a transcontinental country that spanned much of Eurasia from 1922 to 1991. It was a successor state to the Russian Empire that was nominally organized as a federal union of fifteen national republics, the largest and most populous of which was the Russian SFSR; in practice both its government and economy were highly centralized until its final years. As a one-party state governed by the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, it was a flagship communist state.

0 shares 5 views

News coverage

You might like