United Kingdom  


County of England

Cheshire    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

Cheshire: County of England
Cheshire is a county in North West England, bordering Merseyside and Greater Manchester to the north, Derbyshire to the east, Staffordshire and Shropshire to the south, and Flintshire and Wrexham County Borough in Wales to the west. Cheshire's county town is the City of Chester (118,200); the largest town is Warrington (209,700). Other major towns include Crewe (71,722), Runcorn (61,789), Widnes (61,464), Ellesmere Port (55,715), Macclesfield (52,044), Winsford (32,610) and Northwich (19,924).


Life-sized Colin Firth cake created to celebrate Pride And Prejudice anniversary [Video]

Life-sized Colin Firth cake created to celebrate Pride And Prejudice anniversary

A life-sized cake of Colin Firth as Mr Darcy has been created to celebrate the25th anniversary of the BBC’s Pride And Prejudice mini-series. The six foot-tall cake was unveiled at the National Trust..

Credit: PA - Press Association STUDIO     Duration: 00:54Published

You Might Like

Only some pubs in England-Wales border town allowed to reopen this weekend

Saltney is partly in Flintshire, north Wales, and partly in Cheshire, England
Independent - Published

'Tourism burglars' who targeted footballer jailed

The pair stole thousands of pounds worth of jewellery and watches from affluent areas of Cheshire.
BBC News - Published

Creamfields 2020: Dance festival off due to coronavirus

The event was due to take place in Daresbury, Cheshire over the August Bank Holiday weekend.
BBC News - Published

Man drowns in Cheshire trying to save dog from river

A woman also entered the River Weaver in Northwich, Cheshire, with the 21-year-old man who died.
BBC News - Published

Widnes pub landlord stab killer 'believed he was Jesus'

Lee Abbott admits the manslaughter of Cheshire pub landlord Christian Thornton but denies murder.
BBC News - Published

Widnes students stabbed near Riverside College

The 16-year-old boys were taken to hospital after a disturbance near a college in Widnes, Cheshire.
BBC News - Published

'Least used' railway station Redcar British Steel gets visitor boost

Denton in Tameside and Stanlow and Thornton in Cheshire inherited the title from Redcar British Steel
BBC News - Published

Fire crews tackle Cheshire stately home blaze

Up to 50 firefighters are at the scene at Tilston House in Tarporley and water is being pumped from a canal.
BBC News - Published

Alex Rodda death: Man in court accused of boy's murder

Alex Rodda, 15, was found dead near woodland on Friday morning in Ashley, Cheshire.
BBC News - Published

Alex Rodda: Man charged with murder over Cheshire boy's death

An 18-year-old is accused of killing Alex Rodda, 15, whose body was discovered on Friday.
BBC News - Published

Cheshire bakery creates bread made with crickets

Flour is mixed with ground-up crickets to provide protein, the Northwich bakery says.
BBC News - Published

Lorry full of chocolate on fire on A556 in Cheshire

The A556 in Cheshire is closed in both directions as firefighters tackle the blaze near a motorway.
BBC News - Published

Manchester criminals arrested in Cheshire hotel hot tub

CCTV shows police arresting the men in the pool and spa area of a hotel where they were hiding out.
BBC News - Published

AJ Pritchard assault: Case against man discontinued

AJ Pritchard and his brother Curtis were injured on a night out in Cheshire on 27 December.
BBC News - Published

Widnes dog attack: Elayne Stanley named as victim

Neighbours say Elayne Stanley, 44, was killed in the attack in Widnes, Cheshire, on Tuesday.
BBC News - Published

Man, 19, dies at Creamfields festival

The man died in hospital after falling ill at the four-day dance music festival in Cheshire.
BBC News - Published

Handforth murder arrests after woman found dead

Three men are arrested after the woman was found in Handforth, Cheshire, early on Sunday.
BBC News - Published

Cheshire stabbing: Two arrested after man killed outside Widnes pub

Police dispatch extra patrols to area amid concern from nearby residents
Independent - Published

Flooding disruption eases across north of England

Firefighters work to protect homes and businesses in a Cheshire town swamped by heavy rain.
BBC News - Published

Tornado causes damage in Greater Manchester and Cheshire

The wind and rain caused havoc near Manchester Airport and the RHS Flower Show at Tatton Park.
BBC News - Published

Jodrell Bank Observatory given world heritage status by Unesco

Cultural site in Cheshire hosts 250ft-wide Lovell Telescope built in 1957
Independent - Published

Chester hospital baby deaths probe: Nurse Lucy Letby bailed

chester hospital baby deaths probe: nurse lucy letby bailed
Cheshire Police are investigating the deaths of 17 infants between 2015 and 2016.
BBC News - Published

Cocaine gang jailed after £20m seizure on M6 in Cheshire

cocaine gang jailed after £20m seizure on m6 in cheshire
Officers stopped a van on the M6 in Cheshire and found 186kg of cocaine hidden in the floor.
BBC News - Published