Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Tuesday, 25 June 2024


International governing body of association football


The International Federation of Association Football, more commonly known by its French acronym FIFA, is an international self-regulatory governing body of association football, beach soccer, and futsal. It was founded in 1904 to oversee international competition among the national associations of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. Headquartered in Z├╝rich, Switzerland, its membership now comprises 211 national associations. These national associations must also be members of one of the six regional confederations into which the world is divided: CAF (Africa), AFC, UEFA (Europe), CONCACAF, OFC (Oceania), and CONMEBOL.

1 shares 5 views

News coverage

You might like