Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Monday, 18 January 2021

East Riding of Yorkshire

County of England

East Riding of Yorkshire
East Riding of Yorkshire

The East Riding of Yorkshire, or simply East Riding or East Yorkshire, is an area in Northern England. The name is traditionally and geographically a reference to the easternmost of the three subdivisions of the traditional county of Yorkshire. The boundaries of the East Riding, the North Riding and the West Riding were historically treated as three separate areas for many cultural and legal purposes, such as having separate quarter sessions. In 1889 under the Local Government Act 1888, administrative counties were formed on the existing historic county boundaries in England, but in Yorkshire, given the vast size of the county area, three administrative county councils were created, based on the historic boundaries of the three Ridings. The East Riding County Council was the administrative local government and ceremonial county (Lieutenancy) area established for the area ; it remained in place for eighty-six years until being removed for new administrative tiers of local government.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

Whales washed up on East Yorkshire beach

A group of whales have been washed up on a beach in East Yorkshire. HumbersidePolice said the seven animals have been beached on a..

PA - Press Association STUDIO

You might like