Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Sunday, 3 March 2024


Country in Central Africa


Rwanda, is a landlocked country in the Great Rift Valley of Central Africa, where the African Great Lakes region and Southeast Africa converge. Located a few degrees south of the Equator, Rwanda is bordered by Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is highly elevated, giving it the soubriquet "land of a thousand hills", with its geography dominated by mountains in the west and savanna to the southeast, with numerous lakes throughout the country. The climate is temperate to subtropical, with two rainy seasons and two dry seasons each year. It is the most densely populated mainland African country; among countries larger than 10,000 km2, it is the fifth most densely populated country in the world. Its capital and largest city is Kigali.

0 shares 9 views

News coverage

Labour condemns Rwanda scheme costs


The cost of the stalled Rwanda asylum scheme could rise to half a billion pounds, an investigation by the public spending watchdog..

You might like

Rwanda media coverage


More coverage