Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Friday, 16 April 2021


Ceremonial (geographic) county of England, UK


Cumbria is a ceremonial and non-metropolitan county in North West England. The county and Cumbria County Council, its local government, came into existence in 1974 after the passage of the Local Government Act 1972. Cumbria's county town is Carlisle, in the north of the county; the only other major urban area is Barrow-in-Furness on the south-western tip of the county.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

You might like