Skip to main content
U.K. Edition
Wednesday, 16 June 2021

West Sussex

County of England

West Sussex
West Sussex

West Sussex is a county in South East England on the English Channel coast. The ceremonial county comprises the shire districts of Adur, Arun, Chichester, Horsham, and Mid Sussex, and the boroughs of Crawley and Worthing. Covering an area of 1,991 square kilometres, West Sussex borders Hampshire to the west, Surrey to the north, and East Sussex to the east. The county town and only city in West Sussex is Chichester, located in the south-west of the county. Administratively the ancient county of Sussex had been divided into 6 rapes with the 3 western rapes being administered separately from the eastern rapes. This was legally formalised with the establishment of West Sussex Council in 1888 but within the ceremonial Sussex. After the reorganisation of local government in 1974, the ceremonially fictions of the historic county of Sussex was divided into two separate counties, with the western half becoming West Sussex and the eastern half East Sussex. The existing East and West Sussex councils taking control respectively, with Mid Sussex and parts of Crawly being transferred to West Sussex administration from East Sussex. In the 2011 census, West Sussex recorded a population of 806,900. West Sussex is one of the Home Counties.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage